Big Change

There has been much take place in 2008 (way too much to go into here), but the biggest change was a unit change. A few weeks ago I was pulled from my current unit and placed into another unit without a chaplain. The reason for the change one might ask? ANSWER: Deployment.

That’s right ladies and gents. I will soon leave the comforts of home and family and spend a year away from my loved ones in a distant land. The transition has been hectic and quick to say the least, but we are now prepared and ready. Although I cringe at the thought of life away from my family, I am excited about the opportunity and adventure. My previous Commander put it well when he said, “As a Chaplain, this is where the rubber meets the road.” He summed up my thoughts perfectly. When we joined the Army we did so during a time of war and partly because we are at war. The great Soldiers of this great nation make sacrifices day by day and struggle through it all. As a chaplain, I can be there for them through that struggle, which means journeying to the other side of the world.

I wanted to give this update knowing that I might not be able to write once deployed. We covet your prayers and thank the many people who are already part of the support. May the Lord continue to bless your lives and shine down upon you and those you love.

4 Comments

  1. James, Beth, and Benjamin Reeves said,

    28 August 2008 at 8:37 pm

    Hey, Kirk! We were thinking of you guys tonight, and I searched your name on a whim and came across this blog. You guys are in our prayers as you prepare for your deployment. Though we haven’t seen you in a while, we love you all still and are very proud of what you are doing.
    Just wanted to let you know you are in our thoughts and prayers!

    James, Beth, and Ben

  2. Andrea said,

    10 September 2008 at 7:57 pm

    Ken is getting ready to deploy too along with several guys you had chbloc with. We will be praying for you. Andrea May

  3. 12 September 2008 at 11:54 pm

    God has used you in so many ways that you aren’t even aware of. One example was that He brought you into my life right at the time when a young person has to decide what to do and how to be, and I’m thankful that you were to help mold me into the Christian I am today. I am proud to have you in my family.

    God bless you.

  4. Mike said,

    1 March 2009 at 1:43 am

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour


Leave a comment